Sign In Forgot Password

Unlocking the Prayer Book

Upcoming Sessions

1. Thursday, February 22, 2024 13 Adar I 5784

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

2. Thursday, February 29, 2024 20 Adar I 5784

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

3. Thursday, March 7, 2024 27 Adar I 5784

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

4. Thursday, March 14, 2024 4 Adar II 5784

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

5. Thursday, March 14, 2024 4 Adar II 5784

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

6. Thursday, March 21, 2024 11 Adar II 5784

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

7. Thursday, March 28, 2024 18 Adar II 5784

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

8. Thursday, April 4, 2024 25 Adar II 5784

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Past Sessions
Thursday, February 15, 2024 6 Adar I 5784 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Thursday, February 8, 2024 29 Shevat 5784 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Thursday, February 1, 2024 22 Shevat 5784 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
unlocking the prayerbook: Finding new meaning in our prayers
Thursdays | February 1, 2024 - April 4, 2024 | 7:00pm - 8:30p
Teacher: Rabbi Steven Rein
Where do we meet? In-person only at Agudas Achim
The prayerbook is comprised of many prayers composed over the years, ancient words that have been said by Jews across generations and communities. What do these prayers actually mean, and how can we relate to these words in a deeper way?
 
This class invites you to look anew at the prayerbook, to investigate the Shabbat and weekday prayers, with an eye toward personal meaning.
 
During the course, we will a) investigate primary sources (Biblical and rabbinic) that serve as background and inspiration for various prayers, b) form an interpretive methodology to read traditional Jewish prayers, and c) invest ancient prayers with more personal meaning.
Share Print Save To My Calendar
Wed, February 21 2024 12 Adar I 5784